There are a number of trophies and awards that are determined through the swimming year and these are described below.  Presentation of these is made annually at the Annual General Meeting and Awards Night.

Age Group Awards

These are determined at the Club Championships and trophies awarded to each age group, both male and female.

The Alan Crawford Trophy for the Most Improved Senior

Alan Crawford was the swim school owner and coach at Harold Holt Pool when Michelle Laidlaw joined his team in 1968.  When he retired in 1980 Michelle, who by then was his Business Manager, successfully tendered for the business which then became the Blue Fin Swim School. Alan Crawford’s dedication to quality stroke technique has formed the backbone of the Blue Fin Program.

The Maidie Slade Parker Trophy for the Most Improved Junior

Maidie Slade Parker was a teacher in the Alan Crawford teaching program, who specialised in taking young age groups from beginners to pre squad level.  Her understanding of young swimmers made her a huge success with her able bodied swimmers as well as a large group of swimmers with disabilities who enjoyed her caring attention.

The James Carolan Perpetual Trophy for Commitment to the Club

James was a dedicated Blue Fin Club member who learned to swim and trained with Blue Fin at Harold Holt and then at Wesley and Korowa pools. After an horrific and heroic fight with leukemia, James died just before his sixteenth birthday.  In April 1991 the club created the James Carolan Trophy for commitment to the club.

Junior who has made a Major Contribution to the Camaraderie of the Club

This Award is presented to a swimmer age twelve or under, who has been a registered member of BFAASC for a minimum of twelve months and who has shown a strong contribution to the Club, which means amenability with other swimmers, coaches and others; helpfulness around the club; attentiveness to coaches, and reliability.  This award is NOT dependent on the swimmer’s ability, or the number of training sessions they have attended.  This award is decided by the Committee.

Most Consistent Trainer

Awarded to the swimmer for the most attendance and effort in training for the whole season.

Swimathon Winners

A prize for the most money raised.  Awards for the greatest distances swam in each squad are presented on the night of the Swimathon.

Handicap Series Winners

Trophies are awarded to the first three place getters in both the Freestyle and the Breast, Back and Butterfly handicaps.